Necessity is the mother of my Facebook page

Picture of fingers walking on Yellow Pages phone directory

My office phone has been hopping lately, and not just with free cruise offers and other robocalls. I have had a few new-old clients finding their way back to my office. All have come via a few family physicians who used to send me referrals, until I told them I was out of commission five or so years ago. Remember that brief spell when I abruptly closed my office and abandoned all my clients? Yeah, that. And, more recently, my endless moaning and groaning about missing my work? Someone has been listening to my internal pleas.

Yesterday I met with a client I hadn’t seen in 10 years. She somehow tracked down my number and gave me a call. I realized, upon checking the old file, that she’d initially been referred by one of these family physicians. After our session, I asked the client for written permission to send the doctor summarizing our contact. It would also be a way of telling the doctor that I was not dead.

I scripted a quick one pager. After the half hour it took me to recall business formatting, and the additional half hour spent printing an envelope, I finished the letter and dropped it in the mail. As they say, she who hesitates forgets.

Upon awakening this morning, I realized that I’d omitted my letterhead completely. No address, no phone number, no email address, nothing. If the doctor wanted to contact me, she’d be completely at a loss, unless she’d recorded my number somewhere or had held onto an old business card. How long do you hold onto someone’s old business card?

I am an idiot. When I told J. what I’d done, she said, “Are you sure you’re ready to go back to work?” That seemed a bit harsh. I’ve been doing the odd bit of therapy, but I haven’t scripted a business letter in five years now. I forgot how it’s done, but I believe I’ve learned from this experience and will never forget to include my contact information again. Tomorrow, in my I’m-still-alive notes to other family physicians who’ve recently made referrals, I’ll most certainly include a business card or two.

In my panic this morning, though, I asked J. to google me. Googling myself would force me to accept I’m invisible on the internet, and I don’t need that humiliation. She did a search, and found my telephone number from an office I left a decade ago. I couldn’t believe my current work number of 10 years was completely absent on line so I was forced to google myself. I discovered that a) I really am invisible; and b) my current number and my old number are equally represented. At least clients seeking me have a 50/50 chance of choosing the correct number. Perhaps I shouldn’t have been so quick to cancel my Yellow Pages account.

I need to create a web presence pronto. For now, I am creating a business Facebook page, complete with my correct telephone number and email address. I hope potential clients are able to find the right Annie, since there are two Annies with my last name on Facebook. FYI, in case you can’t tell from the picture, I’m not the Annie from Fresno, California.

3 thoughts on “Necessity is the mother of my Facebook page

  1. So of course I had to Google you myself. Big surprise: you had your own tv series:
    “The Adventures of Tugboat Annie” Annie the Psychologist (TV Episode 1957)”. 😃

    BTW Nice Facebook profile picture.

    Like

Leave a Reply

