Lest she forget

Where oh where has my appetite gone? Who cares? I’m on the easiest diet ever, one that doesn’t involve any planning or effort. Let me revel in it while I can. Don’t be jealous; losing an interest in food isn’t much fun. I don’t recommend it. I’m headed out for lunch today with friends and wondering what I’ll not eat.

Today I can assure you that my appetite loss is not a sign that my health is in peril. Yesterday Dr. Blood confirmed that my blood test results were a-okay. I’m fine.

Enough about that; we had many other more important things than my health to discuss. Dr. Blood is leaving for her overseas adventure at the end of July, so this was my last appointment with her, for now.

I’m going to miss her. We discussed the young hematologist assuming her practice in her absence–I’ll need yet another new name, folks–whom she’s no doubt chosen very carefully. Dr. Blood would not leave her patients with someone she did not trust. She assured us that she’d be back, and I believe her. She told us she rented out her home here for a year; she didn’t sell it. That’s a good sign, isn’t it?

I promised myself I wouldn’t cry and I didn’t, or at least not once I’d arrived at the Cancer Centre. (The drive there is another story.) J. and I asked Dr. Blood about her plans because we’re genuinely interested and we wished her well because that was the appropriate thing to do. I did not plead with her to stay, not even for a nanosecond.

Then I gave her the thank you card I should have written years ago telling her how grateful I’ve been for her diligent care. I reminded her of when we first met and how she saved my life. It’s a great story, and one she should never forget.

I’m an awkward hugger at best, but I was planning to ask if I might hug her at the end of the appointment. She preempted my awkwardness altogether. As we were parting, she asked if she could give me a hug. It was a significant gesture from someone who has been such an important part of my life for the past five years.

Changing of the guards

Just imagine these are doctors.

I am genuinely excited for her, and I hope she has a wonderful year. At the same time, I feel sad that she will not be here to care for me. Am I a bad person for thinking of myself and my needs in this situation? No, I don’t think so. Still, I’m glad I refrained from bringing Sadness into the room. I will miss Dr. Blood, but I will welcome her replacement and put my trust in him. I’ll adapt to someone new because I’ve been through the changing-of-the-doctors drill many times now.

Dr. Blood has also left me with a new goal to strive for. (We cancerous folks like setting goals for our futures.) The new goal? I now have to stay alive until she gets back. Dr. Blood seems convinced that I will still be here, and since her judgement has been 100% thus far, why start doubting her now?

2 thoughts on “Lest she forget

Leave a Reply

