Fatigue is a many-splendoured thing

I’ve been struggling with more fatigue than usual of late. I should be napping daily, and on the days that I don’t, despite my best efforts, I spend part of the day in a fog. Last Monday, I napped before my volunteer shift so I’d be able to serve soup safely.

Despite my fatigue, I dragged myself out of bed this morning so I could write this post. If I let myself, I could return to bed and sleep for another few hours. My self-denial does not allow for the stimulating effects of caffeine. I am hoping writing will get my brain cells firing.

I try not to belabour you with stories of my fatigue day in and day out. I’d hate for your reading to put you to sleep. And I don’t want you to view me as a whiner. But since people often ask me why I’m tired, I thought I might list the known reasons here.

  1. Medical factors:
    1. Leukemia (I expect you to know that one)
    2. Polycythemia (maybe less obvious)
    3. Liver disease (yes, my sick liver makes me tired)
    4. Related to C, pharmaceutically-induced low blood pressure
    5. Several other medications with those little warning stickers on the bottle, “Do not operate heavy machinery….”
  2. Environmental factors:
    1. Bedroom is too hot/too cold/not just right
    2. Pesky songbirds that awaken early in these parts
    3. Pesky dog who takes her cues from the pesky songbirds
    4. Stanley Cup playoffs

Let’s focus on 2D, since the playoffs, however transitory, are currently compounding the chronic fatigue caused by medical factors (1A through 1E). Now that Calgary is out, I am rooting for the Edmonton Oilers under duress. They are making a notable run for the Stanley Cup. Now in the second round, they continue to play brilliantly, despite last night’s loss.

The Oilers’ performance should be of no matter except (and this is a big “except”) their games have been taking place late in the evening. Because I am a devoted hockey pool member with players selected by my beloved (my love for hockey only goes so far), I am invested in how well all teams are performing.

(For the benefit of those who do not know what a hockey pool is [primarily my family], I choose the well-performing players from teams I believe will have success in the playoffs. [Liar. J. chose my players.] Players are eliminated as their corresponding teams are. By retaining the most players through the final round, I have the best chance of winning the title.)

So I’ve been staying up late watching hockey and counting my points. Thanks to J.’s wise selections, Annie’s Agitators is currently second, neck and neck with Jesse’s Water Wings. J. lags well behind, having chosen an inferior team for herself. (I take credit for my success, despite J.’s doing all the heavy lifting.)

But, let’s not forget the compounding role of factor 2C: Jelly, never an avid hockey fan, sleeps through long evenings of our rooting for the underdogs. She startled awake once to J.’s raucous cheering after a goal, but the rest of the time she has slept soundly through our deriding the referees. Jelly would never manage to awaken with the birds if she stayed up with us to watch. Perhaps I should follow her lead?

Basset hound Jelly sleeping in awkward twisted position

 

7 thoughts on “Fatigue is a many-splendoured thing

  1. Love it. This is the most well read and public forum that Jesse’s Water Wings have been mentioned in. The notoriety is exciting!

    I really like reading these posts to get to know you better. Add another one to the list of why I love you so much: our mutual dislike of songbirds and dedication to speaking out against them despite likelihood of public ridicule 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Jesse: Anything I can do to get your catchy pool team name out there. As for the songbirds, I’m afraid you are mistaken. I love the little minstrels; I just wish they’d set their alarm a bit later than pre-dawn. 🐦🐦🐦🐦 I love you too nonetheless. 😘

      Like

    • You don’t like hockey? Neither do I, Lisa, and especially not the fighting. What are those men teaching the kids that idolize them? But I do love a competition with J., especially when I’m winning, since she’s better than me at almost everything. 😁 Thanks for commenting. I’ve missed hearing from you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for missing me. I’ve been spending time with my almost 89 year old mother and traveling a little and unfortunately being with a good friend as much as possible. She died last Thursday as I held her hand all day and even though she was sedated and may or may not know it, she had a room filled with family and friends sharing stories about our lives with her. I’m trying to write and post and not liking what I’ve come up with. Too long and not humorous enough. I want to treasure the days and write fun or at least inspiring pieces. I appreciate your honesty and explanation of your condition. I’m sure you are inspiring to many people. I think I may have some survivor guilt as I had an ominous diagnosis in 2013 and she was diagnosed in November and she’s gone in April. Wow. Speaking counselor to psychologist you just got lots of info that I rarely share. About my C. I don’t share because I’m fine. Want to live life fully without that being a topic of conversation all the time. And I don’t want casseroles.

        Like

      • Lisa: You have so much going on right now. Sometimes it’s hard to be light. And life just isn’t fair, but I hope you can let go of feeling bad for not dying. If you are comfortable forwarding your email through a comment, I won’t post it but I’d love to share some thoughts privately once I’m back home. Take care of yourself. Annie

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m really doing very well. We were all encouraging her to go. Very peaceful. Celebration of life was wonderful. My kids are all trickling in from college for the summer. I feel really good about the peace that follows a knowing a beloved person is finally out of pain.

        Like

Leave a Reply

