“The therapeutic effects of blogging” by I.M. Needy

Black diary with lock and key

Part of the fun of living my simple life is knowing I’ll get to share it with you, my faithful readers. I send out a post hoping my words will garner a chuckle here, a thoughtful pause there, a heated (or calm) discussion over dinner, an insight I hadn’t considered, perhaps even a bit of comfort for a troubled soul. I don’t allow myself to consider that I might bore you or annoy you or incense you, even though all are distinct possibilities.

Often I have no idea what reactions I’ve garnered from a post since I may not receive any comments or emails or texts. Initially I found that silence hard but I can now honestly say that, even when there’s silence, I hold out hope that my post has made someone somewhere think.

The reason I’m okay with no feedback now is that I know my main goal is for my writing to comfort myself. Your generously taking the time to read is all I need to feel the healing effects. That’s why writing a private diary never worked for me; no one was listening. I write because, along with yoga and other active pursuits, time with my family, and baking an excellent batch of cookies on the first attempt, writing is my therapy. If a post manages to touch you in some way, that’s a bonus.

And so I must confess that I haven’t given any of us enough warning that yesterday I left on a vacation for two weeks. Frankly, with all that’s been going on in my life, I hadn’t had much time to prepare for this trip, let alone to prepare you. I was still packing as my suitcase was carried out the door. I may not manage my usual three sessions posts per week while I’m away because I have better ways to spend my time. This absence will be much harder on me than on you, I’m sure.

We psychologists are taught to give our clients advance warning of a vacation so they have time to process how they will survive in our absence. Kind of pompous of us, don’t you think, to believe we’ll be missed or our clients can’t survive without us? They were surviving just fine for many years before we got involved.

This is all a moot point for me since, sadly, I haven’t had any clients to tell I’d be away. Not even one call since September, despite a fairly steady workload through spring and summer. Then all those clients started thriving–maybe they too started a blog–so I was turfed. I miss having clients to inform of my vacation plans.

So while I’m away, maybe you could ask those friends who are making excessive emotional demands of you, who are relying on you to be their therapist, who are draining you, who need to seek professional help before you need to, to call me. I’ll be back in a few weeks, and, despite all this volunteering, I can still make time for the odd session. Do it for me, and for yourself too.

In the meantime, I wish you all well, and I’ll selfishly write when I can. I trust you too will thrive without me. If not, consider a blog.

 

 

4 thoughts on ““The therapeutic effects of blogging” by I.M. Needy

    • Dear PMH: I had thought there was some research last year suggesting that there is not much research support for seasonal affective disorder. As an esteemed scientist, are you familiar with this? I thought the research itself was bunk, so maybe you’ll be right after all. Fingers crossed for a client or two. Thanks for all the good wishes. XO

      Like

Leave a Reply

