On not judging a book by its cover

Quote: Judging a person does not define who they are...it defines who you are.

I recently read an insightful novel that addressed the potential consequences of judging others unfairly, and the importance of accepting people who are different from us. (Don’t I sound like a wise book club participant at this moment? Don’t be fooled, I’m parroting a book review I read.) Check out The trouble with goats and sheep by Joanna Cannon if you, like me, enjoy an easy but thought-provoking read. The cover is nothing to write home about, though.

I’ve often acknowledged how judgey I can be, even though I try hard not to be. Within a few minutes of meeting someone, I’ve formed an opinion about whether or not we’ll get along. Sometimes I’m bang on but I wonder how often I’m wrong because, based on that first meeting, I haven’t given the person a chance.

What right have I to judge other people when there are infinite ways that others might judge me? I am nothing but a lazy couch potato who yawns incessantly. I am cranky and impatient and rigid. I can be a real downer and a worrywart. I watch hours of mind-numbing Border Security and Food Network repeats. Sure, I’m sick, but that’s no excuse. Your list of my inadequacies would easily exceed my 500-word post limit, I’m certain.

Although you have more than enough to judge me on already, there’s something else I need to confess, and I beg your compassion and understanding. Over the past few months, I’ve become the person who makes a special trip to the grocery store when I’m low on overpriced unflavoured kefir. There, I’ve said it. I’m one of those.

To support the health of my recently depleted gut bacteria, I have been drinking kefir daily since I was discharged from hospital. But I’m not that kind of person. Except for the wine gums and chocolate and occasional slice of pizza, I eat a fairly well-balanced diet. Come to think of it, I can’t even recall the last time I had a wine gum, but that probably has something to do with the delectable box of chocolates I currently have at my disposal.

But wait, there’s more. I’ve taken this whole kefir thing a little too far. Last week, I baked my favourite honey whole wheat bread with kefir, substituting it for the buttermilk. Do you have any idea how much sodium is in buttermilk (not that sodium matters anymore)? And were you aware that you could substitute equal amounts of kefir for buttermilk in baking? So that’s what I did, and it worked. The bread is great.

Except for the live bacteria, that is. After baking with kefir, I did a bit of research and guess what? Heating live bacteria decimates them, thereby eliminating the gut benefits. You probably knew that already but I’m new to this whole gut flora thing. So throw kefir in your smoothie, drink it straight up, make your salad dressing with it–I’ve always got some on hand if you’re out–but don’t bake with it if you want those gut-healing effects. And if you judge me for my kefir obsession, you really need to read that book.

7 thoughts on “On not judging a book by its cover

  1. OK Annie…as a test of your “judgemental-ness” I wrote that blog I suggested you write. It’s either very funny or kind of disturbing. Are you game?

    Like

Leave a Reply

