Altruism is my middle name, today at least.

Picture of three Big Macs on wooden board, uneatenDid you catch the recent news reports about sodium levels in Canadian processed foods? In 2010, a government advisory group suggested voluntary sodium reductions in these foods, and the researchers wanted to assess compliance. As expected, the researchers learned that food producers don’t respond to voluntary measures. Indeed, companies need to be mandated to make such changes and fined if they don’t. According to the study, most processed foods are as salty as ever and some foods have more sodium than when the voluntary guidelines were first introduced. I’m talking to you, bread bakers.

Why did these researchers waste money on a study when my hours of unbiased and unpaid supermarket research–that’s me walking the aisles reading random nutrition labels–came to the same conclusion? All the researchers had to do was ask me and I would have told them that I still can’t buy bread or soup or tomato sauce without fear of reinflating to the third trimester of my never-ending pregnancy.

I am hoping that at some point, someone will step in and make things happen for people like me, and diabetics, and people at risk of heart disease and stroke, and everybody else. I’m not the only one who would benefit from sodium reductions in prepared foods; I just complain about it the most.

Despite my righteous protestations, this girl’s gotta eat, and sometimes she’s even gotta eat out. I even get the odd craving for fast food, despite my ongoing study of nutritional data at these restaurants revealing that my only options are a smoothie, an undressed green salad, or coffee.

Nevertheless, today I’m considering buying my first Big Mac in about 25 years. J. has agreed to share the 520 calories and 950 mg of sodium, which will halve the damage to us both. I have craved this Big Mac for several months and I think it’s time I let loose.

Before you accuse me of blatant hypocrisy, know that it’s all for a good cause: today is McHappy Day. Funds raised on McHappy Day support Ronald McDonald Houses, which shelter out-of-town families of hospitalized sick children. You know how much I love kids. Imagine how sad I feel when I think about kids who are sick, especially now that I know what it’s like to be a sick adult. If I buy a Big Mac today, money will go toward supporting families who are under enough stress as it is. I have to do it, don’t I? If this isn’t killing two birds with two all-beef patties, I don’t know what is.

You learned last post that Annieness is next to Godliness, so it follows logically that my altruism knows no bounds. I just give and give and give until I can give no more.

Now, if I could just get that new fried chicken place that J. wants to try to plan some grand charity event, I’d be set. Or maybe I’ll have to suffer through that outing as a charitable gesture to my sodium-deprived partner.

P.S. No, I will not be getting fries with my Big Mac. Maybe an undressed side salad?

P.P.S. Let me know if you want to join us tonight. I won’t tell.

 

6 thoughts on “Altruism is my middle name, today at least.

Leave a Reply

