A sure sign of spring? I’m moulting.

Black-capped chickadee on a bare branch

We Calgarians have been blessed with a mild winter and a gorgeous early spring. The trees are already starting to bud, the songbirds are returning from warmer climes, and the neighbourhood hares are changing from winter white to warm-weather brown so the coyotes can’t see them. Oh, and I’m moulting.

I didn’t know humans could moult until I woke up a few mornings ago to find the site of my recent infection sloughing off. Yes, I have dandruff of the trunk. I have taken a lint brush to my belly to minimize the mess, a method that is quite effective if done at regular intervals I might add. Oh, I’m overdue. It’ll just take a minute….

Turns out the last phase of cellulitis is the body’s ridding itself of the skin at the infection site. Take that, bad skin, you’re fired. I was a bit alarmed until I realized my shedding is a final sign of healing.

It’s been a long few weeks, I will admit. The infection slammed me, and then the antibiotics knocked me out–those drugs are toxic if effective–and, now that the drugs are finished, I am just coming up for air. I have only four weeks to get healthy and strong before we leave for our trip.

My appetite is very slowly returning although my diet is still primarily white: white rice, white bread, oatmeal, and a bit of protein throw in so I don’t lose all my muscle mass. I am first to admit I am not meeting my daily requirement of vegetables, even though I am normally a vegeholic. I also can’t yet stomach the thought of sweets, which frightens me a bit, although I’ve choked down a few wine gums just to be sure.

I don’t recommend cellulitis. It hurts. The antibiotics may have quickly combatted my fever, which topped out at 106 degrees F, but the skin infection took longer to heal. Thankfully, Dr. Skin informed me that the pain of the infection would continue to get worse for a few days after the fever had returned to normal. This is the usual course of healing.

For those of you who have been afraid to ask (and those of you who have not), “cellulitis” may sound like “cellulite” but the two are not one and the same. In other words, I did not have an outbreak of fatty, dimpled skin on my thighs. I am sad to report that the cottage-cheesy dimpling I had previous to this infection is largely unchanged despite my profound lack of appetite. Frankly, I’m a little annoyed that, after not eating much for two weeks, I’ve only lost the 10 lbs. of fluid I gained in hospital plus a few more for good measure.

But I did have an idea: I wondered if, rather than my trunk shedding, the moulting could migrate to my thighs, thereby ridding me of a layer or two of that fatty, dimpled skin I’ve resented for years now. I understand there are supposed creams and laser treatments that may be effective to this end, but I can’t afford intervention, and I imagine moulting would be less invasive. Why not kill two spring songbirds with one stone (no violence intended)?

4 thoughts on “A sure sign of spring? I’m moulting.

  1. If you’re not loosing weight when you don’t eat wine gums, cookies and other treats, it also means (at least in my humble opinion) that you will not gain weight when you do eat them. So, I would say, if your fully back to you normal self, go for it ; )

    Like

    • PMH: Where are those wine gums when I need them? Oh well, I’ll have to start on your novel weight-control plan tomorrow. For now, it’s another handful of rice crackers. Thanks for your scientifically sound insight. XO

      Like

  2. Hi Annie,

    Nice to hear things are starting to return to normal. Can’t believe sweets are still not that appealing to you. Did you know lobsters moult every fall. Yup, now Annie in the spring and lobsters in the fall…..

    Glad Dr. Skeeter tried the experiment (and you agreed to participate) and now you have a new class of antibiotics that can be used if needed. Good for both of you to give it a try.

    Rose xo

    Like

    • Rose: Thanks for your good wishes. Very interesting about lobsters–I had no idea! Yes, Dr. Skeeter’s successful experiment may serve me well in the future. I’m glad he challenged my version of past events. Hopefully this new treatment option will come in handy someday. XO Annie

      Like

Leave a Reply

