Santa came through for this Jew!

Our vacation has come and gone with little fanfare. The torrential downpour and high winds kept us close to our hotel, but did not dampen our spirits. I highly recommend a vacation. Hopefully you too will get a change of pace over the holidays.

If you read the comments on my last post, you’ll know that Santa brought me the Sadness doll I’d asked for. He was a little verklempt when he received a letter from a Jew–as if he doesn’t have enough on his plate (and I don’t just mean cookies) this next while–so he dropped the gift off on the last day of Hanukkah. An appropriate compromise, don’t you think?

I love Sadness and take her with me everywhere I go, in the house, that is. I’m self-aware enough to know I’d look a little odd if I took her out in public, although I miss her when I leave her at home. She’s cuddly and blue, of course, and her hair sparkles with rainbow glitter. She wears an appropriately frumpy sweater to camouflage her big hips. Come to think of it, I may look a little bit like her of late, except for the blue hair.

I like Sadness because she’s nerdy and gloomy and the human equivalent of “glass half empty”. Whether we want to admit it or not, we all have a little part of her in us. I’m admitting aloud that she’s a part of me, which seems to concern some of you.

We all have characters we relate to, don’t we? You already know I love Grover because he’s fearful and brave at the same time. Who’d have ever thought to make a monster fearful? I love Linus because he’s a wise, intellectual sort who nonetheless keeps his security blanket within reach. Come to think of it, all my favourite characters have some underlying anxiety, except for Sadness, who is depressed.

Don’t fret, dear readers, all is okay. Sadness is just a part of me, not all of me. By admitting she’s a part of me, I feel better. just like the little girl in Inside Out. Remember how hard Joy worked to ensure Sadness didn’t take over? Joy must have been absolutely exhausted by the end of filming.

If you’re really worried about my preoccupation with Sadness, maybe Santa can put Fear under the tree for you. Or if you’re mocking me and my childish ways, Disgust may be more appropriate. If Santa doesn’t bring you what you were hoping for, I’ll see if I can score you Anger. Or maybe you’re in denial about all those negative feelings, in which case a stuffed Joy may be in order.

But if you, like me, are down sometimes, you’re welcome to borrow Sadness. Christmas is such a stressful time of year, even for Jews, and she may cheer you up too. If Sadness fails to help, we can always talk instead. I am a trained professional, you know.

 

Leave a Reply

