The Grateful Undead

images

On the first night of Hanukkah my true love gave to me…Hanukkah socks! Not easy to score in this city of Calgary. One of the pairs even have nonslip Stars of David on the soles, which is handy for a slippy person like me.

Gratitude is quite the hot topic these days. Some people write down what they’re grateful for every night, while others share their gratitude openly with others. I’ll admit I’m a little more in tune to gratitude since I got sick, and especially since leukemia struck.

On the radio a few days ago, a woman was describing her practice of gratitude. Every day she identifies 20 things that she’s “authentically” grateful for. Yes, that’s the term she used. Good on you, Grateful Woman, but I don’t think I could come up with 20 things I’m grateful for every day. But you know how much I love a challenge.

  1. I’m grateful to be alive.
  2. I’m grateful that I barely had to drag myself out of bed this morning.
  3. I’m grateful that I don’t feel like I’ve been run over even by a Tonka truck today.
  4. I’m grateful to all the friends who have wished me a Happy Hanukkah.
  5. I am grateful to be wearing my new Hanukkah socks with the nonslip soles.
  6. I’m grateful that Hanukkah lasts 8 days.
  7. I’m grateful that my lovely cleaning person left our house spic and span today.
  8. I’m grateful that it is a glorious fall day.
  9. I’m grateful that Jelly and I were up to going to the park today.
  10. I’m grateful that my good friend, N., was at the park, even if her pooch rejected Jelly’s advances.
  11. I’m grateful that Jelly is too exhausted from a good run this morning to be mischievous and ill behaved.
  12. I’m sorry that J. has come home sick from work, but grateful she hasn’t shared her illness with me.
  13. I’m grateful to have survived a tough yoga class today, despite my stiffness from yesterday’s even tougher class.
  14. I’m grateful to be reading an engaging novel.
  15. I’m grateful to have a copy of the Saturday Globe’s annual list of 100 best books of the year. (How else to decide what to read next?)
  16. I’m grateful for the pre-Christmas miracle of no line at the post office today.
  17. I’m grateful not to be in hospital, as I was at this time last year.
  18. I’m grateful that in four more sleeps, we will be on vacation.
  19. I’m grateful that I don’t have to be this authentic every day.
  20. I’m grateful to the kind person at Canada Revenue Agency who sent me a well-deserved but unexpected cheque today.

I’ll explain that last one. Today I arrived home, not just to J. in p.j.s, but to a cheque reimbursing my overpaid taxes in the year of my leukemia diagnosis. I have no idea how this came about, but I’ll accept it as the government’s little Hanukkah gift to me. Thank you Canada!

There, I did it, all 20, but I felt completely inauthentic. I guess I have some work to do.

 

7 thoughts on “The Grateful Undead

  1. Hey Annie

    I checked out the Globes 100 best books as well as you and have ordered a bunch from the library. I’m thankful we have a public library!

    Like

  2. I figure I have lots to be grateful for, mostly getting to know you better through your blog. I am also grateful that my appointment with Dr. Retina yesterday did not turn into one of those 4 hr adventures where you see the Dr. for 20 seconds….you know what I am talking about! In fact this clinic was so efficient and Dr. Retina spent lots of time with me and I was out of there in 1.5hrs. Puts the Cornea clinic to shame. Hugs Kathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

