Blood takes flight

J. and I have been talking about our annual September vacation. I happened to forget the conversation where I agreed we’d only go away for one week rather than two. Oh, and the decision that we wouldn’t go very far. I’m going to have to negotiate those decisions a bit more, since I aspire to an adventure in foreign lands if I continue to do well. Maybe I could borrow your travel insurance. Is that considered insurance fraud?

We may be staying put for the rest of the summer, but my blood went on a trip without telling me. I found out during my visit with Dr. Blood yesterday that a sample of my blood had flown to Vancouver so some learned geneticist could take a peek. This is what I learned: I have not just two but four genetic mutations. Any more and I will become an adult mutant ninja turtle.

I guess it’s not uncommon for some of these mutations to hang out together. And my particular constellation of genetic anomalies is associated with the slow-progressing polycythemia that I seem to have. Then the doctor admitted that this blood analysis was “an academic exercise” and didn’t add any new insights to her arsenal.

Enough about the travelling blood; we moved on to my new chemo. My kidneys and liver aren’t rebelling against this medication, and even my red blood count is holding up. But my platelets are dipping to dangerous levels again, which might explain the very prominent and growing bruises I have, one on each arm. An excitable dog caused one but the other is of unknown origin. I must have run into something in my leukemic stupor. Hopefully my fly was done up that day.

Dr. Blood gave me the rest of the summer off, except for a blood check in three weeks to make sure my platelets don’t sink any lower. Time to pray for proliferating platelets, folks. If the sticky cells decline any further, I’ll have to cease and desist this new chemo. That would be sad. As it is, I’m on a lower-than-therapeutic dose, so its effects may be negligible.

Did you know that, when your liver isn’t functioning all that well, drugs become more potent? That means I need a lower dose of a drug to obtain the same effect as someone with a healthy liver. So I’ve decided this lower dose may be enough for me. I happen to be on a lower-than-average dose of my other (leukemia) chemo and it’s working just fine.

How will I know if the new chemo is working? Take out your magnifying glass because my spleen may shrink. With this shrinkage may come increased energy and improved well being. (I’m choosing to ignore the potential side effect of weight gain, so you can too. Thanks.) Improved well being would be great, don’t you think? Less whining from me, more writing about topics other than my health, fewer visits from Sadness and Fear.

Hopefully I’ll find something to write about or I’ll be back to soliciting stories from you. I guess I could always take a blogcation, but what fun is that?

2 thoughts on “Blood takes flight

Leave a Reply

