A staycation isn’t always the consolation prize

This has truly been the holiday season of unreciprocated gifts. I have been the giftee much more often than the gifter, which isn’t my forté. I have received all manner of home-baked goods for me and J. and pooch and thoughtfully selected gifts from people I wasn’t expecting anything from and carelessly hadn’t thought to get anything for. This gifting is above and beyond all the help bestowed upon us of late. I have been saying thank you a lot lately, feeling grossly indebted, and trying not to feel guilty. It’s been a crash course in gracious acceptance of others’ generosity.

For you to understand our latest and most extravagant gift, I first must disclose yet another piece of bad news: we had to cancel our upcoming vacation to warmer climes. I didn’t want to tell you–enough bad news already, Annie. Just after booking our flight, I had my little hospital escapade, and the doctor suggested we might reconsider travel. That maybe I should get stable before we leave the country without travel insurance. (Travel insurance is out when you’re being treated for cancer.) So now we have not just one but two sets of round-trip flights to use up within the next year, before we lose them.

Our dear friends W. & C. took it upon themselves to right that wrong. No, they didn’t use our airline tickets or send us away against medical advice. But they planned a mysterious staycation for us the night of January 4. As the day neared, they told us to pack an overnight bag for ourselves and the dog, whom they would care for.

So at 2:30 p.m. yesterday, C. picked us up and whisked us off to a beautiful inn. Our room overlooked the Bow River and had a lovely view of downtown. The inn was even close to the hospital, a factor we consider when booking lodging. When we arrived, W. greeted us, having adorned our room with pictures of southern California, and provided a lovely low-sodium appetizer plate to hold us until we met for dinner at a restaurant around the corner. They had even called the restaurant ahead to ensure my lo-so needs could be accommodated. After a lovely dinner, W. and C. left us to enjoy our luxury lodgings. They met us the following morning to enjoy a perfect in-hotel breakfast before returning us home. Good thing I made no diet-related New Year’s resolutions this year.

s. california snow on oranges, January 2015J. and I had a lovely, relaxing time but unfortunately W. and C. are exhausted today. Jelly chose to vomit at 3 a.m., a logical consequence of eating sticks at the park, and then taught their dog that wake up time is 6, not 8 a.m. I imagine W. and C. will sleep as well tonight as we did last night. In the meantime, southern California was paralyzed by an uncharacteristic skiff of snow, so we may not be missing much.

The staycation was a perfect distraction from what awaits tomorrow, just as our friends intended. Add this perfect day to everyone’s good wishes from far and wide. I don’t know what I’d do without you guys.

 

4 thoughts on “A staycation isn’t always the consolation prize

  1. Surprise! My first comment. I look forward to your insightful blog. It always encourages me to think and helps me understand your journey. I am thankful.
    Deb

    Like

Leave a Reply

