December resolution? Why not.

Why does everyone wait until the New Year to make resolutions? No wonder they’re bound to fail. I, on the other hand, have decided to invoke a December resolution. If it extends into the New Year, all the better.

Because resolutions are nothing like birthday wishes, I can share mine with you without jinxing it. So here it is: I am hereby declaring December a cancer-free month. Yes, folks, you heard it here first. It’s been a crazy cancer-filled year, culminating in November’s “we have no idea what’s going on with you.” All that time wasted fretting and stewing and not sleeping, and for what? I am suffering from cancer burnout, and I need a break. So I’ve decided to take this month off cancer. That means no doctors, no labs, and no ER visits. I can’t promise I won’t think about cancer, but I’m not going to talk about it.

I know, I may regret this public proclamation. It always storms the day after a car wash, and when rain is forecast, forgetting an umbrella ensures a torrential downpour. But I feel fairly secure in this plan. I will be healthy all month, maybe even into the New Year. Why scratch it if it’s working?

Jelly donut covered in white sugar.

Timmy’s have nothing on these sufganiyot.

What will I do with all my spare time? I’ve missed a number of yoga classes and dog walks attending doctors’ appointments. I haven’t been cooking as much as usual, and my frozen baked goods stores (I don’t give away everything I bake) are slowly becoming depleted. Yes, there is room in the freezer again. So many things to do, so little time.

If I’m taking the month off, you deserve the month off too, don’t you think? I’ll need more time to come up with blog-worthy post subjects if I’m not writing about cancer. What will I have to tell you? Unless my life gets a little more exciting, you may not hear from me as often over the next while.

You probably think I’m just doing this because I’m overwhelmed by Christmas preparations. Guess again. I’m Jewish, so readying for Christmas is not really in my repertoire. I recently realized, while talking to a friend, how much time and money I’ve saved over the years NOT making Christmas Cake for all my friends. You probably have Judaism envy. ‘Tis not my season, I’m afraid.

Chocolate coins in gold wrappers with menorahs on them.

Real gelt has Hebrew on it.

Since I’ll have a lot more time on my hands, I’ve decided to work on ridding myself of the few pounds I gained from the recent stress-induced overeating. (Sorry to tell you, J., but our supply of leftover Hallowe’en chocolate bars is almost all gone.) Another virtue of Judaism: it’s possible to lose weight this time of year, so long as we don’t overindulge on latkes, gelt, and sufganiyot.

How do I plan to shed the flab? Nothing drastic, trust me. I’ll just be replacing the sweets with sweet potatoes. Why sweet potatoes, you ask? I just read an article that suggested sweet potatoes can kill leukemia cells, so I’d better get on it. Anything that might help the cause. I’ll let you know if it works, but not until January. This month I’m cancer free, remember?

P.S. Anybody have a good recipe for sweet potato latkes?

Fried potato pancakes on a plate.

Applesauce and sour cream, please.

Leave a Reply

