Milestones are for passing

Now that I’ve lived two years post cancer diagnosis, I feel invincible. Hence my decision to draw your attention to a recent blogging milestone, humble by many standards but significant for me. As of this week, I have over 75 followers. In other words, over 75 people are harassed each time I post a new entry.

Now, this news is significant because I am an absolute failure in the blogging community in many ways. I peruse few blogs and check in on other blogs only sporadically, for several reasons. First, I don’t have time because my own blog takes up every spare minute I have. Second, I fear what I might read about in others’ blogs, especially if any of these bloggers are dealing with health challenges like me. (I am a touch health anxious sometimes, remember.) But third, and perhaps most importantly, I fear I’ll discover that everything I’ve written is wholly unoriginal.

So I am truly lucky to have garnered 75+ followers. I don’t deserve the interest and devotion. But I’m not getting too big for my britches, don’t worry. A large number of these followers are people I’ve roped into reading my blog, including friends and colleagues who would have had a hard time saying no. (It’s not too late, dear friend; you have my explicit permission to stop following anytime. If your unfollowing makes me sad, that’s my problem.)

A number of fellow bloggers follow my blog as well. Some have significant health challenges, others an interest in mental health for personal or professional reasons, but the majority are trying to sell me something. These sales-bloggers believes their writing and/or marketing prowess could benefit me in some way. Frankly, I’m a bit hurt by this last group’s interest, since these folk seem to be implying that my blog needs their help. I’ve previously acknowledged my lack of confidence in my writing skills, so their interest only reinforces my insecurity.

Here’s the bad news for those bloggers who wants me to pay them for help: If you missed the post on my allowance a while back, I don’t have any money to give you. I use my meagre disability pension to contribute in whatever small way I can to our family; I’m afraid I don’t have enough left over to share with you.

And frankly, I’m a little insulted that you think I need your help, since I think I’m doing just fine on my own. I may never have thousands of followers or move to Hollywood to star in my own sitcom, and I may never make money from my blog, but if what I write touches one or two people every so often, I will have met my goal.

Now that you know the truth, I’ll understand if you budding entrepreneurs stop following my blog. I may need your help desperately, especially in your eyes, but our priorities obviously differ. Good luck finding other bloggers to sign lucrative deals with you. May your ventures be fruitful and multiply! My blog and I will continue to amble along slowly and independently and under most radars because that’s just how we roll.

New Yorker cartoon: Two dogs facing one another, one says to other: "I had my own blog for a while, but I decided to go back to just pointless, incessant barking."

Leave a Reply

