No apologies for this post

Text reads "Be proud of who you are."

My guiding principle

Is there a difference between being boastful and expressing pride in oneself? I don’t take well to people who boast, to be honest, and I dread ever sounding like one of them. But I’m working at feeling proud of what I do well without bragging. To be honest, I have a morbid fear of boasting. I’ll try to get it all out of the way in this post.

I’ve never told you that I graduated with honours from the School of the Gifted, despite many wondering how I ever got in. Or my completing a marathon, an accomplishment I diminish because my time was 3 minutes slower than Oprah’s. I can solve a pretty tough Sudoku, and I have already shared my ear for music isn’t bad. I sometimes–often?–even make people laugh. I’ve had many a proud moment as a psychologist, but I rarely share this pride with others.

I’m going to add something new to this list, if you will indulge me: I’m really proud of my blog. I enjoy writing and I think I do it fairly well, dangling participles aside. This confidence in my ability to share myself through my writing is much harder to tell you than it should be. In fact, I’ve reluctantly directed people to the blog since I don’t want to be tooting my own horn.

Over the few months I’ve been writing, I’ve received kind and supportive feedback from readers. This past week, two people shared their reactions to my blog in ways that touched me deeply, and I want to gloat with you if you don’t mind.

One woman, a kind and utterly healthy person, told me she looks forward to new posts and she’s found something she could relate to in every entry. It never occurred to me that a healthy person might take anything from what I write, so her input was both touching and enlightening.

And the second woman, who has more than her share of health challenges (more on her next post) asserted that I am indeed still a psychologist even though I may not be working because I am helping people like her through my blog. Her words were a great comfort to me because I often feel I’ve lost an important part of myself since I stopped being a therapist. Maybe my helper gene is still functioning, but in this realm instead of my therapy office. It felt good to imagine that might be so.

I felt great after hearing these comments. By sharing them with you, I hope not to seem boastful, because I’m much more likely to apologize for my very existence than to laud myself. But I decided, in light of recent posts, that I would not apologize for being proud; I would relish it and share it with you, faithful readers. I thank all of you for reading, and I trust you’ll let me know if I’m becoming too big for my britches. I wouldn’t want that.

2 thoughts on “No apologies for this post

Leave a Reply

